Home / BUSINESS / Election Tracker LIVE: Chinese Troops Enter India While PM Modi Enjoys Tea With Xi Jinping, Says Rahul Gandhi – News18

Election Tracker LIVE: Chinese Troops Enter India While PM Modi Enjoys Tea With Xi Jinping, Says Rahul Gandhi – News18

”An urgent meeting was called and it was decided that the selection of candidates should begin. Around 70 applications have been received by the party from Delhi Congress leaders for seven seats in Delhi,” a senior party leader said.

Earlier, the Aam Aadmi Party had decided to go solo in Delhi, without joining hands with the Congress. Arvind Kejriwal’s party has declared candidates for all seven seats in the state capital.

Hours after UP CM Yogi Adityanath blamed SP and BSP for Kairana and Shamli riots, former chief minister Akhilesh Yadav took a jibe at the BJP government, saying that “when rioters themselves occupy seat of power, how will riots happen?”.

Bringing back the focus on Hindu exodus, CM Yogi said that several people of the majority community had to flee Kairana and Shamli during SP-BSP rule. “In 24 months of our rule, we have brought the confidence back and people have returned to their homes. This has been one of the biggest achievements of the government,” he said.

Congress’s east UP in-charge Priyanka Gandhi Vadra said that ‘What did they do in 70 years?’ argument also has an expiry date. “BJP should now tell what have they done in five years,” she said in Bhadohi.

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has promised to make efforts for release of all seven convicts in the Rajiv Gandhi assassination case. The assurance was made in DMK’s manifesto released by party chief MK Stalin. They also assured to give citizenship to Sri Lankan refugees.

Seven legislators of Telangana Congress defected to Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), while three more are in touch with Chandrashekar Rao’s party. Miffed with switch overs ahead of polls, the local unit of the grand old party has demanded President’s rule in the state.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) on Tuesday released its first list of party candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. The list of 25 candidates include former Union Minister P Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Guntur MP Jayadev Galla, who had moved the no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government.

The Congress on Monday night released its fifth list of 56 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, including 22 from Andhra Pradesh and 11 from West Bengal. The list also included eight candidates from Telangana, six from Odisha and five from Assam, besides three remaining seats from Uttar Pradesh. On Saturday, the Congress had called off alliance talks with the Left parties.

On the other hand, the Congress in Telangana has appointed senior leaders as in-charges for the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The disciplinary action committee of state Congress has also expelled six leaders, including former MLA Arepalli Mohan, M Krishank (official spokesperson) and P Karthik Reddy (who contested as Chevella Lok Sabha candidate in 2014) for alleged anti-party activities.

On Monday, the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT), a regional tribal party of Tripura, had announced candidates for both the Lok Sabha seats in the state. The INPT decided to declare its candidates after its talks for seat sharing with the opposition Congress failed, party president Bijoy Kumar Hrangkhawl said.

Hrangkhawl, an insurgent turned politician, said INPT leaders met Congress president Rahul Gandhi recently in New Delhi and signed a memorandum of understanding for joint fight against the BJP.

In Delhi, the AAP made it clear that there would neither be any alliance with the Congress nor would it withdraw any of its nominees for the Lok Sabha polls in Delhi, a day after declaring its candidate for the seventh seat.

Asserting that “enough is enough”, senior AAP leader Gopal Rai said these are the final seven candidates of the party and there is no question of “any roll back”. The ruling Aam Aadmi Party had on March 2 announced the names of its candidates for the six Lok Sabha seats.

In the western state of Gujarat, the Gujarat Congress alleged the BJP has violated the model code of conduct by holding a meeting of the party’s State Parliamentary Board at Chief Minister Vijay Rupani’s official residence, prompting the poll panel to order a probe.

The main opposition party lodged a complaint in this regard with the Election Commission (EC). However, the BJP rejected the Congress’s charge. On receiving the complaint, sent by the Congress through fax, Gujarat Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) S Murali Krishna ordered an inquiry into the matter.

”We have received the complaint. We will conduct an inquiry into the issue,” Krishna told PTI. In its complaint, the Congress alleged the CM’s official residence in Gandhinagar is a government property and no political activity is permitted from a government premises when the model code of conduct is in force.

Election Tracker LIVE: Chinese Troops Enter India While PM Modi Enjoys Tea With Xi Jinping, Says Rahul Gandhi – News18

Check Also

MI vs CSK Live Score, IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians lose wickets in quick succession – Times of India

MI vs CSK Live Score, IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians lose wickets in quick succession – …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *