Home / FINANCE / Pickles and Lilley among former Tory ministers to get peerages

Pickles and Lilley among former Tory ministers to get peerages

Sir Eric PicklesImage copyright

Image caption

Sir Eric Pickles is among those going to the House of Lords

Downing Street has nominated nine new Conservative peers, including a number of former ministers, to sit in the House of Lords.

Among those put forward for a peerage are former communities secretary Sir Eric Pickles and former trade and industry secretary Peter Lilley.

The move follows a series of government defeats in the Lords, where Theresa May does not have a majority, over Brexit.

The Democratic Unionists will get one new peer while Labour will get three.

The Lib Dems, which has more than 100 peers in the unelected chamber, said it was “desperate bid” by Theresa May to quell opposition to her Brexit policy.

The full list of Conservative nominations is:

  • Sir Eric Pickles, former communities secretary
  • Peter Lilley, former trade and industry secretary Peter Lilley
  • Sir Edward Garnier, former solicitor general
  • Sir Alan Haselhurst, former deputy speaker
  • John Randall, former deputy chief whip
  • Andrew Tyrie, former Commons Treasury chairman
  • Amanda Sater, former deputy chair of the Conservative Party
  • Catherine Meyer, founder and chief executive of Action Against Abduction
  • Diana Barran, founder and chief executive of Safe Lives

All six of the MPs on the list stood down at the 2015 and 2017 general elections. Of those nominated, Mr Lilley is the only prominent Brexiteer among them.

The government has suffered 15 defeats in the Lords during the passage of its flagship EU Withdrawal Bill, by majorities ranging from about 30 votes to more than 100.

Peers have snubbed Theresa May by calling for negotiations on remaining within a customs union with the EU and staying within the European Economic Area.

Image copyright
Conservative Party

Image caption

Peter Lilley and Sir Edward Garnier are among other Tory nominees

Peers could be asked to vote on these issues again if their amendments to the Bill are overturned by MPs.

Other crucial Brexit legislation, relating to subjects such as trade and immigration, has yet to even be considered by Parliament.

At the moment, 244 of the 780 peers in the House of Lords take the Conservative whip, more than any other party but well short of the number required to give the government a majority.

Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn has nominated former Labour general secretary Iain McNicol, campaigner Martha Osamor – whose daughter Kate is a member of the shadow cabinet – and author Pauline Bryan.

The list, which has to be approved by the Queen, is completed by former DUP MP Dr William McCrea, a Free Presbyterian minister who was MP for Mid Ulster between 1983 and 1997 and for South Antrim between 2000 and 2015.

Friday’s appointments have to be vetted by the House of Lords Appointments Commission although the body does not have the powers to reject individuals.

Lord Newby, the leader of the Lib Dems in the House of Lords, said it was a “cynical response” from the PM to losing a string of votes in recent weeks

“The PM is running scared of the mounting criticism of her disastrous handling of Brexit,” he said.

Pickles and Lilley among former Tory ministers to get peerages}

Check Also

Labour leadership: Party members set to grill leadership candidates

Media captionFive candidates remain in the race for the Labour leadership Labour members will get …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *